Delhi Assembly Election 2020 — Chandni Chowk Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates


Chandni Chowk assembly is one of the seventy Delhi assembly constituencies in northern India. Chandni Chowk assembly constituency is a part of the Chandni Chowk Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2015, Chandni Chowk assembly constituency had a voter turnout of 65%. In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015, Akhilesh Pati Tripathi from AAP won this seat bagging 54628 votes beating Vivek Garg from BJP who received 37922 votes. In 2020, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Parlad Singh Sawhney for the next term. Other prominent faces to contest the 2020 state assembly election from Chandni Chowk Assembly are Alka Lamba of Congress and Suman Kumar Gupta of BJP.

Full list of candidates for Chandni Chowk assembly who will contest Delhi Assembly Election 2020:

1. Sudesh from Bahujan Samaj Party

2. Alka Lamba from Indian National Congress

3. Suman Kumar Gupta from Bhartiya Janata Party

4. Parlad Singh Sawhney Aam Aadmi Party

5. Anil Singh Jadon from Shiv Sena

6. Ramesh Chand Goyal from Rashtravadi Janata Party

7. Satpal from Asankhya Samaj Party

8. Sadeque Muniroddin Shaikh from Tipu Sultan Party

9. Krishna Avtar, an Independent candidate

10. Vijay Kumar Sharma, an Independent candidate

Assembly elections in Delhi will be held on February 8, 2020, in what promises to be a high stake triangular contest with the AAP hoping to retain power on the plank of development and the BJP and the Congress determined to put up a spirited challenge. Announcing the 1-day poll for the 70-member Assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told a news conference earlier this month that counting of votes will be taken up on February 11.

Over 1.46 crore voters can exercise their franchise, according to the final electoral roll published on January 6. There are total 1,46,92,136 voters — 80,55,686 males, 66,35,635 females and 815 belonging to third gender — in the final voters list. All voters will be provided QR code-enabled voters slip which will speed up voting through easy identification.

This time Delhi will have 13,659 polling stations as compared to 11,763 in 2014, a jump of 16.89 per cent, according to an EC press note. The Commission has decided to extend the facility of a postal ballot for “absentee voters”, people with disability and those above 80 years of age in all 70 assembly constituencies. In October last year, the government had amended election rules to allow “absentee voters” to vote by postal ballot.

Electors on duty at the polling station, electors who are above 80 years of age and the electors marked as ‘Persons with Disabilities’ in the Electoral Roll will have the option to seek postal ballot paper for casting their vote. The facility of absentee voter status was provided for the first time in the country in seven Jharkhand assembly constituencies which went to polls in December 2019.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.