Delhi Assembly Election 2020 — Kirari Assembly constituency of Delhi: Full list of candidates, polling dates


Kirari assembly constituency is one of the seventy assembly Delhi assembly constituencies in northern India. Kirari assembly constituency is a part of North West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency.

In 2015, Kirari assembly constituency had 61 percent voter turnout. In the Delhi Assembly Elections 2015, Rituraj Govind from AAP won this seat bagging 97,727 votes and beating Anil Jha from BJP who received 52,555 votes. In 2020, Aam Aadmi Party has fielded Rituraj Govind. Other prominent faces to contest the 2020 state assembly election from Kirari Assembly are MD RIYAZUDDIN KHAN of Rashtriya Janata Dal and Anil Jha of Bharatiya Janata Party.

Full list of candidates for Kirari assembly who will contest Delhi Assembly Election 2020:

1. Rituraj Govind from Aam Aadmi Party

2. Anil Jha from Bharatiya Janata Party

3. MD RIYAZUDDIN KHAN from Rashtriya Janata Dal

4. RABINDRA KUMAR SINGH from Bahujan Samaj Party

5. RAKESH KUMAR from Satya Bahumat Party

6. SHAWKAT ALI ANSARI from Asankhya Samaj Party

7. AJIT KUMAR from Lok Jan Shakti Party

8. REKHA BHARTI, an Independent candidate

9. RAVINDER KUMAR, an Independent candidate

10. KAUSHAL MISHRA, Independent

Assembly elections in Delhi will be held on February 8 in what promises to be a high stake triangular contest with the AAP hoping to retain power on the plank of development and the BJP and the Congress determined to put up a spirited challenge. Announcing the 1-day poll for the 70-member Assembly, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told a news conference on Monday that counting of votes will be taken up on February 11.

Over 1.46 crore voters can exercise their franchise, according to the final electoral roll published on January 6. There are total 1,46,92,136 voters — 80,55,686 males, 66,35,635 females and 815 belonging to third gender — in the final voters list. All voters will be provided QR code-enabled voters slip which will speed up voting through easy identification.

This time Delhi will have 13,659 polling stations as compared to 11,763 in 2014, a jump of 16.89 per cent, according to an EC press note. The Commission has decided to extend the facility of postal ballot for “absentee voters”, people with disability and those above 80 years of age in all 70 assembly constituencies. In October last year, the government had amended election rules to allow “absentee voters” to vote by postal ballot.

Electors on duty in polling station, electors who are above 80 years of age and the electors marked as ‘Persons with Disabilities’ in the Electoral Roll will have the option to seek postal ballot paper for casting their vote. The facility of absentee voter status was provided for the first time in the country in seven assembly constituencies in Jharkhand which went to polls recently.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.