More About OSCAR


The word ‘Nominated for Oscar’ gives you a feeling of pride, especially when it is a Bollywood movie.  This time it is for  Ranveer  Singh and Alia Bhatt starrer “Gully Boy”  directed by Zoya Akhtar and written by Reema Kagti and Akhtar is in the limelight.

But do you know when did the first OSCAR happen? How much an OSCAR award weight? Who created the statuette for OSCAR?


Here are a few facts you must know about Oscars.

Oscar is an annual academy award given by Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Science (AMPAS). The award is recognized internationally for excellence in cinematic achievements, which are accessed by the Academy’s voting membership.  It is one of the oldest award ceremonies worldwide.

The official name for OSCAR is the “Academy Award of Merit“. A copy of golden statuette portraying a knight standing on the reel of film and holding a sword rendered in Art Deco ( a style of visual arts, architecture flourished in France in 1920) is given as an award to winners of different categories.


Os car was designed by Cedric Gibbons, an Irish-American art director and production designer in 1928 and sculpted by George Stanley, a Los Angeles Artist.

  • Os car was the first broadcast on radio in 1930 and 1953 it was televised.
  • The weight of Os car statuette is 8.5 pounds and is 13.5 inches tall.
  • The OS CAR statuettes are made by a Chicago based awards company-RS Owens & Company, since 1982.
  • The entry ticket for the first OSCAR in 1929 at Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel costs US$5.
  • OS CAR winners could not sell their statuette without first offering it to Academy for 1 $.
  • The television network ABC is a regular broadcaster of academy awards, since 1976.
  • The length of the red carpet is 152.4 meters, i.e., 500 feet.


  • Emil Jannings, a German actor, was the first actor to be awarded an OS CAR for his performance in “The Last Command” and “The way of all flesh”.
  • The Academy Award for Best animated feature’ was first given in 74th Academy Awards.
  • Oscar trophy is known to be a statuette of a Mexican actor, director, and screenwriter- Emilio “El Indio” Fernánde.
  • The award was made of painted plaster due to metal shortage during World War 2.
  • According to the biography of Bette Davis, president of the academy in 1941, she gave the name OS CAR to academy awards after the name of her first husband-band leader Harmon Os car Nelson.
  • Until 2010, Nameplates on the award was left blank to prevent leakage of information about the winners. Winners had to return their statuettes to the company to inscribe their names on them.
  • The youngest OS CAR winner was 10-year-old Tatum O’Neil, who won the best supporting actress award for the movie ‘Paper Moon’ in 1973.


  • The oldest person to receive the award was Christopher Plummer at the age of 82 for the movie “Beginners” in 2010.
  • Italy is the country to win 10 Os cars for foreign language films.
  • “The Godfather part 2” is the only sequel to get OS CAR in 1974.
  • Marlee Matlin was the first deaf actress to receive it in 1987, for the film ‘Children of a lesser God’.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.